Follow

Facebook Course Community Group

Most live courses have an exclusive Facebook Course Community Group that is the perfect place to continue your discovery process after each class. Here, you can continue discussions about your course materials and interact with your fellow students to take your exploration to an even deeper level. Although joining the FB group for your course is entirely optional, we welcome your participation!

Note: On-demand courses and summits do not have their own Facebook Community Groups. 

ABOUT FACEBOOK ACCOUNTS 

Must I have a Facebook account to participate in the Course Community Group? 

Yes, in order to join the group, you will need to first have a Facebook account. However, participation in the Facebook Community Group for your course is optional.

How do I open a Facebook account? 

If you do not yet have a Facebook account, you can sign up for one in a few easy steps. Please see our tutorial, "Create a Facebook Account."

I used to have a Facebook account, but I closed it. How do I reopen my Facebook account so I can participate in the course community group?

If you had a Facebook account in the past and have since deleted it, you will need to create a new account to participate in the course community group.

I'm not comfortable having my name or photo on Facebook. What do I do?

You can start a Facebook account with the name of your choice. Photos are not required. (If you wish, you can upload a picture of your favorite animal, flower, etc.)

JOINING YOUR GROUP

How do I join the group for my course? 

There is a link to the Course Community Group on the Course Homepage for each live course. You can join through that link anytime during the course.

For detailed instructions about joining the Facebook Course Community Group for your course, please see our tutorial, "Join a Course Community Group."

I tried to join the group but nothing seemed to happen? 

Please allow 24–48 business hours for your course registration to be confirmed and your access to the group approved. Facebook does not send out a notification once you have been approved. You will need to check back to see if you have been granted access to the group.

How will I know when I've been allowed into the group? 

For specifics, please refer to the above link, "Join a Course Community Group." Also, you'll know you are a member when you can see the name of the course group listed under the Groups heading on your own Facebook homepage (which only appears when you have at least one group that you are a member of).

Will you recognize me if my Facebook name is different than my course registration name? 

When you request to join your course group, you will be asked to verify your registration name and email address. Make sure to let us know if the name or email address associated with your Facebook account is different from the name or email address you used when you registered for the course. If you have any concerns about making sure that your request is accepted with an alternate name, please contact our Customer Support Team

How do I get from my Facebook page to my course group page? 

On a desktop or laptop computer:

  1. Click on the “Home” link at the top of your Facebook Page.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.16.39_PM.png

2. From the Home screen (where you see your newsfeed and updates from friends and groups), look for a list of your Groups on the left side of the screen.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.16.46_PM.png

On a mobile device:

1. Click on the Groups icon (a blue circle with three white figures) at the bottom of the screen.Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.16.56_PM.png

2. Once on your Groups page, click on the “Your Groups” button to access a list of your groups. Locate the course community group, and click on it for access.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.17.02_PM.png

When I click on the “Course Community Group” button on the Course Homepage, it just takes me to Facebook. What do I do?

If you don't have a Facebook account and you want to participate in the group, you'll need to create a Facebook account first. If you need help starting a Facebook account, click here. If you already have a Facebook account, just log in, and follow the directions above for joining the group.

POSTING PROCEDURES AND ETIQUETTE

What's okay for me to post? 

Please honor your course group by keeping your posts directly related to the course and its content, including course homework assignments and deepening practice suggestions.

This is not an appropriate place for posting commentary on unrelated issues or topics or for promoting personal products or services. Inappropriate posts may be reported or pulled from the forum. 

The course community group is also not the appropriate place to discuss technical issues, course delivery concerns, or other grievances. For such issues, please contact our Customer Support team directly by submitting a Help Request or by calling (415) 223-7565 Mon–Thu 9am-4pm Pacfic. 

How can I edit or delete something I've posted if I change my mind about it? 

On a desktop or laptop computer:

  1. Hover over the post you want to edit or delete.
  2. Click on the series of three dots that appear in the upper-right corner of the post.
  3. Select “Edit” or “Delete.”

On a mobile device:

  1. Tap on the post you want to edit or delete. Several options will appear.
  2. Select “Edit” or “Delete.”

Every time someone in the group posts something, I get an email. That's too many emails for me! How can I change that? 

Facebook group settings are defaulted to send you an email with every post in your group. To change what email notifications you receive from your group, follow the instructions below.

On a desktop or laptop computer:

  1. Click on the “Notifications” button below the community group header.
  2. Select your notification preferences from the options provided in the drop down menu.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.17.10_PM.png

On a mobile device:

  1. Tap on the series of three dots at the top right of the screen.
  2. Click on “Notification Settings,” and select your notification preferences from the options provided.

Screen_Shot_2019-10-31_at_12.17.19_PM.png

Why are some of the course participants sharing their course work (so marked) to the general Facebook population? Will comments lead other people into our closed group? 

Everyone has the right to share their work as they prefer. Even if their sharing sparks an interest in someone else about the course, that person will still be unable to see the posts of others in the group unless they are a member of the course, themselves.

Can I post Support and Faculty Questions on Facebook? 

Support Questions

If you need assistance from Customer Support regarding your course experience, please contact our support staff by submitting a Help Request or by calling (415) 223-7565 Mon–Thu 9am–4pm Pacific. 

Faculty Questions

Faculty participation in Facebook community groups varies based on course format. The best methods for asking questions are to either submit inquiries during a designated, live session Q&A time or via the “Ask a Question” button on your Course Homepage between live sessions.

Please note that due to the size of most courses, faculty may not be able to answer all questions.

PRIVACY ISSUES

Can anybody outside of the group see my post? 

No. Only members of the group can see posts. Facebook has 2 levels of privacy settings for groups: 

  • PUBLIC—Anyone can join or be added to the group; we do not use this setting.
  • PRIVATE—Only people added to the group will be able to see information about the group and members. This is the setting we use for our Course Community Groups.

Your posts will show up in your personal newsfeed, but they are ONLY visible to other group members. For more information on Facebook’s privacy settings click here.

Can I close my account after I take the course? 

You are welcome to close your account once you have taken the course. The course community group will remain open for up to one year after the completion of your course.

Click here to contact Customer Support 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.